February 2019


General sessions at the ASCRS•ASOA Annual Meeting will feature world-renowned speakers

by Denise Monasterio ASCRS Marketing and Communications Manager

Achievements in ophthalmology to be recognized during ASCRS Opening General Session

On Saturday, the ASCRS Opening General Session will feature a discussion with ASCRS president Nick Mamalis, MD. Also during the ASCRS Opening General Session, the 2019 David A. Karcher Honored Guests, W. Andrew Maxwell, MD, PhD, and Donald Serafano, MD, will be recognized for their many contributions to ASCRS and to ophthalmology.
Dr. Maxwell is a partner at Fogg, Maxwell, Lanier & Remington EyeCare, which has five offices in the Central Valley of California. He served as clinical assistant professor of ophthalmology at the University of California, San Francisco and as an adjunct professor of biology at California State University-Fresno. He received honorable mentions and numerous scientific paper awards for topics in cataract and refractive surgery and has been listed every year in the “Best Doctors of America” since 1992. Dr. Maxwell has presented professional education courses, lectures, and papers throughout the world at society meetings in Canada, Europe, Asia, and other locations. He has published more than 50 articles and scientific papers in numerous industry publications throughout his professional career and is co-editor of two ophthalmology textbooks.
Dr. Serafano is in practice at Eye Physicians of Long Beach in Long Beach, California. He is also an associate clinical professor of ophthalmology at the University of Southern California. He received numerous awards such as an Honored Professional in both the American Directory of Who’s Who in Executives and Business and the National Register’s Who’s Who in Executives and Professionals. Dr. Serafano has also been selected by his peers to be included in the “Best Doctors of America” and Los Angeles Magazine’s “The Essential Guide to Los Angeles’ Best Doctors.” The American Academy of Ophthalmology recognized his achievements with the Honor Award in 1996. Dr. Serafano has given many scientific presentations and performed live surgery at symposia all over the world.
The session will also include special guest F. Harold Kushner, MD, a practicing ophthalmologist and retired U.S. Army Medical Corps Colonel. He received a bachelor’s degree in chemistry with highest honors from the University of North Carolina. He received his medical degree from the Medical College of Virginia in Richmond, winning the Mosby Scholarship Award. Dr. Kushner entered the Army while a medical student in 1965. He completed his internship at Tripler Army Medical Center and received aviation medical training at Fort Rucker, Alabama and Pensacola, Florida before deploying to Vietnam in August 1967 as an Army flight surgeon. He served consecutive residencies in internal medicine and ophthalmology at Brook Army Medical Center in San Antonio. Since September 1977, Dr. Kushner has been practicing ophthalmology in Daytona Beach.
The session will include an update on the ASCRS Foundation and the presentation of the 2019 Chang Humanitarian Award to honoree Richard Litwin, MD. The award celebrates and highlights outstanding humanitarian work in the area of cataract blindness.
Following will be the 2019 ASCRS Ophthalmology Hall of Fame ceremony, which will recognize inductees Howard Gimbel, MD, and Phillips Thygeson, MD (1903–2002). The ASCRS Ophthalmology Hall of Fame was created in 1999 to honor the pioneers of ophthalmology. In the past 19 years, 61 outstanding ophthalmologists have been chosen for induction by their peers.
The session will close with the Binkhorst Lecture, “The Quest for Tear Stability,” given by Stephen Pflugfelder, MD. Since 1975, the Binkhorst Medal has been awarded to the world’s most prominent ophthalmologists who have made significant contributions to the science and practice of ophthalmology.
Dr. Pflugfelder is professor and holder of the James and Margaret Elkins Chair and director of the Ocular Surface Center in the Department of Ophthalmology at Baylor College of Medicine. He specializes in cornea, ocular surface, and tear disorders. His research interests include pathogenesis of desiccation-induced inflammation and autoimmunity on the ocular surface. He has published more than 350 peer-reviewed articles and numerous book chapters. He is past president of the International Ocular Surface Society and has served on the editorial boards of Investigative Ophthalmology and Visual Science, American Journal of Ophthalmology, Scientific Reports, Cornea, and The Ocular Surface.

ASCRS Sunday Summit General Session to feature “brain scientist” John Medina, PhD, and ASCRS’ The Voice of Ophthalmology, season 2

The Sunday Summit General Session will kick off with “brain scientist” John Medina, PhD, delivering the Lecture on Science, Medicine and Technology. Acknowledged as one of the most engaging and crowd-pleasing speakers in the world of neuroscience, Dr. Medina is a developmental molecular biologist, researcher, professor, and a New York Times bestselling author. Dr. Medina is an affiliate professor of bioengineering at the University of Washington School of Medicine. He is also the founding director of the Talaris Research Institute.
The second half of the session will feature ASCRS’ The Voice of Ophthalmology, season 2. Hosted by ASCRS program chair Edward Holland, MD, and featuring returning coaches Ike Ahmed, MD, John Berdahl, MD, Eric Donnenfeld, MD, and Elizabeth Yeu, MD, the session will cover a variety of exciting and controversial topics in anterior segment surgery presented by five contestants.

Ron Kurtz, MD, to deliver Charles D. Kelman Innovator’s Lecture

On Monday during the ASCRS Innovators Session, Ron Kurtz, MD, will deliver the prestigious 2019 Charles D. Kelman Innovator’s Lecture on “Collaborative Innovation.” Dr. Kurtz is president and chief executive officer of RxSight, a privately held corporation headquartered in Aliso Viejo, California. Prior to that, Dr. Kurtz was the general manager of Alcon LenSx. Before Alcon’s acquisition of LenSx Lasers, he co-founded LenSx in 2007, serving as the company’s president and chief executive officer and member of the Board of Directors until its acquisition. In 1997, he co-founded IntraLase Corporation, serving as its initial president and chief executive officer. IntraLase became a publicly held Nasdaq-listed company in 2004 and was acquired by Advanced Medical Optics in 2007. Dr. Kurtz was a professor of clinical ophthalmology at the University of California, Irvine, and was on the faculty at the University of Michigan, where he established the Ultrafast Laser Medical Group.

Best of ASCRS 2019 General Session to highlight the most important papers presented

The meeting will conclude with the Best of ASCRS 2019 General Session on Tuesday afternoon. This special wrap-up session will highlight some of the most important and interesting papers presented at the 2019 ASCRS•ASOA Annual Meeting, as selected by EyeWorld Editorial Board members from among the Best Paper of Session winners.
For more information, visit annualmeeting.ascrs.org.

Contact information

: dmonasterio@ascrs.org

General sessions at the ASCRS•ASOA Annual Meeting will feature world-renowned speakers General sessions at the ASCRS•ASOA Annual Meeting will feature world-renowned speakers
Ophthalmology News - EyeWorld Magazine
283 110
283 110
True, 2