May 2019


Congratulations to the 2019 Resident Excellence Award winners

by Natalie Zundel ASCRS Foundation Development Director

The ASCRS Foundation’s Resident Excellence Award program provides travel grants to enable outstanding young ophthalmologists to attend the ASCRS ASOA Annual Meeting. Thanks to the generosity of an anonymous donor and the exceptional quality of applicants for this year’s award, 11 deserving ophthalmology residents were selected to receive Resident Excellence Awards and attend the 2019 ASCRS ASOA Annual Meeting in San Diego.
Residents are recommended by their program directors or coordinators and exhibit exemplary performance in the areas of research, patient care, leadership, or education. Candidates must be in years 2 or 3 of residency or an active fellow. Congratulations to the 2019 winners.

Katia Chavez, MD
Ohio State University,
Havener Eye Institute
Emily Li, MD
Yale University,
Yale New Haven Hospital
Priyanka Chhadva, MD
University of Illinois
Eye and Ear Infirmary
Austin Nakatsuka, MD
University of Texas
Medical Branch
Martin De la Presa, MD
University of Minnesota
Department of Ophthalmology
Eric Rosenberg, DO
New York Medical College
Austin Fox, MD
University of Iowa Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
Ryan Smith, MD
Stanford University
Medical Center
Nathan Lambert, MD
Oregon Health & Science University, Casey Eye Institute
Nandini Venkateswaran, MD
University of Miami,
Bascom Palmer Eye Institute
Angela Zhu, MD
John Hopkins Wilmer
Eye Institute

Contact information

Evelyn Morales


Congratulations to the 2019 Resident Excellence Award winners Congratulations to the 2019 Resident Excellence Award winners
Ophthalmology News - EyeWorld Magazine
283 110
283 110
True, 5