December 2012




2013 recipient of the prestigious ASCRS Binkhorst Medal announced

by Cindy Sebrell ASCRS•ASOA Director of Public Affairs


ASCRS Binkhorst medalists emeritus

Randall J. Olson, M.D. 2012 Abhay R. Vasavada, F.R.C.S. 2011 I. Howard Fine, M.D. 2010 David F. Chang, M.D. 2009 Edward J. Holland, M.D. 2008 Steve C. Schallhorn, M.D. 2007 Stephen S. Lane, M.D. 2006 Graham D. Barrett, F.R.A.C.O. 2005 Roger F. Steinert, M.D. 2004 Richard L. Lindstrom, M.D. 2003 Marguerite B. McDonald, M.D. 2001 Robert H. Osher, M.D. 2000 Walter J. Stark, M.D. 1999 Samuel Masket, M.D. 1998 Kenneth J. Hoffer, M.D. 1997 Kensaku Miyake, M.D. 1996 Theo Seiler, M.D. 1995 Howard V. Gimbel, M.D. 1994 Douglas D. Koch, M.D. 1993 Jack T. Holladay, M.D. 1992 Stephen L. Trokel, M.D. 1991 Stephen A. Obstbaum, M.D. 1990 Charles D. Kelman, M.D. 1989 David J. Apple, M.D. 1988 Richard P. Kratz, M.D. 1987 Endre A. Balazs, M.D. 1986 Henry M. Clayman, M.D. 1985 Edward Epstein, M.D. 1984 Robert C. Drews, M.D. 1982 D. Peter Choyce, M.D. 1981 Henry Hirschman, M.D. 1979 Miles A. Galin, M.D. 1978 Norman S. Jaffe, M.D. 1977 Jan G. F. Worst, M.D. 1976 Cornelius D. Binkhorst, M.D. 1975

Nick Mamalis, M.D., chosen to receive medal and present prestigious Binkhorst Lecture at the ASCRS•ASOA Symposium & Congress in San Francisco

Nick Mamalis, M.D., will be awarded the Binkhorst Medal and will present the prestigious Binkhorst Lecture during the Open General Session of the ASCRS•ASOA Symposium & Congress in San Francisco on April 20. His lecture, titled "Intraocular Lens Evolution: What a Long Strange Trip It's Been," will explore the history and future of intraocular lens implantation and trace the surgical techniques from the beginning to the next technological frontier in providing clear, uncorrected distance, intermediate, and near vision following cataract surgery. Since 1975, the Binkhorst Medal has been awarded to the world's most prominent ophthalmologists whose careers have made significant contributions to the science and practice of ophthalmology. During his distinguished career, Dr. Mamalis's work has established him as a foremost leader in the field of ophthalmology and a primary force in the study and understanding of toxic anterior segment syndrome. (TASS) He earned his undergraduate degree in biochemistry from Harvard University and attended the University of Utah School of Medicine. He completed a residency in ophthalmology at Loyola University Medical Center and a fellowship in ophthalmic pathology at the University of Utah School of Medicine. In 1987, Dr. Mamalis joined the faculty at the University of Utah, where he is currently a professor of ophthalmology. Dr. Mamalis is also director of the ophthalmic pathology laboratory, John A. Moran Eye Center, University of Utah; co-director of the Intermountain Ocular Research Center; and an editor of the Journal of Cataract & Refractive Surgery. He established a center at the University of Utah to evaluate unexplained post-op anterior segment inflammation and is chairman of the ASCRS TASS Task Force.

Dr. Mamalis has an active clinical practice where he is an anterior segment ophthalmic surgeon. As director of the ophthalmic pathology/research fellowship, he is involved in training residents, fellows, and students, including working with residents directly in the clinic and in the operative suite and directing trainees in the gross and microscopic analysis of ophthalmic pathology specimens. Dr. Mamalis's research is in the area of intraocular lenses and their complications, and includes evaluation of intraocular lens materials, designs, and compatibility to evaluate new intraocular lens designs, including accommodating and injectable lenses, and biocompatibility of intraocular lens materials. He has published more than 200 peer-review publications, 18 review papers, 33 text book chapters, 40 editorials, and more than 40 videos, many of which have won awards at meetings worldwide including ASCRS•ASOA, the European Society of Cataract & Refractive Surgeons (ESCRS), and the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO). He has given numerous presentations including invited or keynote/plenary lectures locally, nationally and internationally over the past 30 years.

Dr. Mamalis is a member of the ASCRS Cataract Clinical Committee and Governing Board. He is chairman of the American Academy of Ophthalmology Compass Panel in Cataracts, as well as a member of the AAO's Cataract Preferred Practice Pattern Consulting Group. He has received the American Academy of Ophthalmology Honors Award as well as its Senior Achievement Award. Dr. Mamalis has been chosen among the Top 50 Opinion Leaders in Ophthalmology as well as one of the Best Doctors in America. He was elected to membership of the International Intraocular Implant Club (IIIC), which is an exclusive organization that requires unanimous consent of its members for admission.

Registration for the ASCRS ASOA Symposium & Congress, which will be held April 19-23, at the Moscone Center in San Francisco, is now open. This is the only event in the U.S. dedicated to the precise needs of the anterior segment specialist aligned with the most established management program for comprehensive ophthalmology subspecialties.

Contact information


2013 recipient of the prestigious ASCRS Binkhorst Medal announced 2013 recipient of the prestigious ASCRS Binkhorst Medal announced
Ophthalmology News - EyeWorld Magazine
283 110
283 110
True, 12